The Television Critics Association (TCA) announced today the winners of the organization’s 39TH Annual TCA Awards, celebrating the top television offerings from the 2022-2023 season. The winners were selected by the TCA’s membership of more than 200 TV journalists from across the United States and Canada. TCA summer tour, including the awards, was canceled. Wanting to acknowledge the winners from the 2022-23 television season, they are being released online.

HBO | Max’s acclaimed hit “Succession” came out on top of the ratings war in its final season, as it took home the TCA’s most-prestigious honor: Program Of The Year. The dysfunctional dynasty boardroom epic also appropriately added its second Outstanding Achievement In Drama Award to its growing list of accolades, fueled by high-stakes twists and conniving characters brought to life by an all-star ensemble.

Other winners include “Better Call Saul” standout Rhea Seehorn, who made the case for Individual Achievement In Drama, while “Poker Face” star Natasha Lyonne won Individual Achievement In Comedy for her honest portrayal of crime-solving cocktail waitress Charlie Cale in the first-year favorite “Poker Face.” And freshman restaurant dramedy “The Bear” earned  significant wins for Outstanding New Program and Outstanding Achievement In Comedy.

It continued to be a strong year for high-concept comedies, as Netflix’s hit “I Think You Should Leave with Tim Robinson” was invited back to claim its second-consecutive Outstanding Achievement In Variety, Talk, Or Sketch Award; and Amazon Freevee’s “Jury Duty” was tried and convicted for Outstanding Achievement In Reality. Elsewhere, PBS’ poignant documentary effort “The U.S. And The Holocaust” earned Outstanding Achievement In News And Information; Netflix’s “Beef” won Outstanding Achievement In Movies, Miniseries Or Specials; and Disney+ dominated, the newly-debuted Outstanding Achievement In Children’s Programming and Outstanding Achievement In Family Programming categories for “Bluey” and “Ms. Marvel,” respectively.

Additionally, The TCA was proud to recognize the trailblazing CBS sketch comedy series “The Carol Burnett Show” with the Heritage Award. The beloved series debuted in 1967 and aired for 11 years, cementing star Carol Burnett’s status as one of the industry’s foremost comediennes in the process. “The Carol Burnett Show” also boasted a talented supporting cast including young upstart Vicki Lawrence, as well as established funnymen Tim ConwayLyle Waggoner, and Harvey Korman; and featured unforgettable appearances by entertainment icons Don RicklesLucille BallGeorge CarlinOlivia De HavillandRock HudsonCherJoan RiversBetty WhitePhyllis DillerJonathan WintersLiza Minnelli, and many more. The series won 25 EMMYs during its unprecedented run, and is widely considered to be one of the greatest television shows of all time.

The TCA also bestowed its Career Achievement honor upon entertainment pioneer Mel Brooks, who redefined comedy for generations of viewers and performers alike, and whose tremendous impact and influence continues to be felt throughout the industry today. Brooks’ career began in television in 1950 as a writer for Sid Caesar’s “Your Show Of Shows,” followed by “The Imogene Coca Show,” “Caesar’s Hour,” and more, leading up to Brooks co-creating the landmark sitcom “Get Smart” in 1965, before branching off into film. His impressive resumé spans across the big and small screens, helming cinema classics such as “Blazing Saddles,” “The Producers,” and “Young Frankenstein,” and appearing in a slew of TV favorites such as “Frasier,” “The Simpsons,” “Mad About You,” and “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” to name only a few. Brooks’ unparalleled achievements throughout movies, television, Broadway, and more, have put him in elite territory—earning the visionary creator four EMMYs, three GRAMMYs, three TONYs, and an OSCAR, making him just one of 18 entertainers to claim the exclusive EGOT gauntlet.


“This was a landmark year for television, as we said goodbye to several powerhouse series while welcoming a new generation of shows and stars into this highly competitive landscape,” said Melanie McFarland, TV Critic for Salon and outgoing TCA President. “Whether established hits or first-year favorites, our honorees exemplify the strength of television and the unique depth that it allows creators to explore. Though we are unable to gather in 2023, we sincerely congratulate each of this season’s winners, and we hope to celebrate in-person in 2024.”

2023 TCA Award recipients are as follows:

Past TCA Award winners are listed on the organization’s official website,


The Television Critics Association (TCA) represents more than 200 professional journalists who cover television for publications across the United States and Canada. The members reach tens of millions of consumers each week, and are considered experts within the industry, representing their employers as moderators, panelists, radio/TV guests and more. The prestigious organization honors outstanding achievements in television and enduring contributions to the medium’s heritage through the TCA Awards each year. This year’s TCA Awards are the organization’s 39TH anniversary. For additional information about the TCA, visit www.tvcritics.orgFacebook; and Twitter.