Just three episodes into its current season (and debut on ABC) comes word that the alphabet network has renewed “9-1-1” for an eighth season. The news also comes right before the action drama’s 100th episode.

“9-1-1” stars Angela Bassett, Peter Krause, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Oliver Stark, Kenneth Choi, Aisha Hinds, Ryan Guzman and Gavin McHugh. Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk and Tim Minear created the series, with Minear serving as showrunner. They executive produce with Bassett, Krause, John J. Gray, Brad Buecker, Kristen Reidel, Juan Carlos Coto and Lyndsey Beaulieu.

“9-1-1” is the second ABC scripted series to land a renewal for 2024-25, joining the critically acclaimed comedy “Abbott Elementary.” To-date, the alphabet network has ordered the Ryan Murphy-produced “Dr. Odyssey,” starring Joshua Jackson, and drama “High Potential,” a holdover from the 2022-23 development cycle, for the 2024-25 TV season.